photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons with the Celaya Chamber Orchestra

Silvestre Revueltas

By Mittie Roger

The Chamber Orchestra Silvestre Revueltas will make their San Miguel debut conducted by Antonio Garcia at Angela Peralta Theater Thursday, March 10, at 7pm. Based at the Music Conservatory in Celaya, the Silvestre Revueltas brings together young award-winning musicians from all over Mexico, and is now celebrating its 10 anniversary.

Pro Musica Concert Series
Camerata Silvestre Revueltas
Thu, Mar 10, 7pm
Teatro Ángela Peralta
350/300/250/100 pesos

The centerpiece of the program will be a performance of Vivaldi’s ravishing and ever popular The Four Seasons in which the 17 string players of the orchestra will be shown to full advantage. These inspired young musicians bring to the great masterpieces of world music freshness and vitality that is often lacking in larger ensembles with their traditional and constrained approach. Vivaldi actually wrote each of the seasons; winter, spring, summer and autumn⎯as separate works and did not necessarily intend them to be played together. However, such is their popularity that these days we are privileged to hear them together. Vivaldi was not only an admired violinist, but an extremely prolific composer, writing some fifty operas, hundreds of sonatas and instrumental works, and over five hundred concertos. To many, the Four Seasons represent the pinnacle of his artistic achievements.

The program will also include Holst’s St. Paul Suite, written for an English girls’ school where he was Director of Music. Holst composed it as a thank you to the school for the gift of a soundproof studio. It is considered one of his greatest and best known works, along with his large orchestral work, The Planets.

The orchestra will also perform Mozart’s epic Adagio and Fugue. At first glance the score seems to belong to a late Baroque composer, like Handel or Bach, but looks can be deceiving. A great departure from the classical period, Mozart’s, Adagio and Fugue has an interesting history. After moving to Vienna, in part due to a friendship with diplomat and music lover Baron Gottfried van Swieten, Mozart was invited to transcribe Bach and Handel fugues for string ensembles and play them for guests.

Originally composed for two pianos, Mozart rewrote it for strings, adding the profound Adagio. Harvard musicologist and pianist Robert D. Levin describes it: “Angular outbursts alternate with an unearthly hush; its suggestions of violence and mysticism make the ensuing geometry of the fugue seem a relief.” Though lost for many years, the Adagio was, to the pleasure of many audiences, rediscovered.

Tickets for this concert are on sale at the Angela Peralta box office; La Tienda in the Biblioteca Pública; La Conexión, only at Aldama 3; the School of Arts at the Instituto Allende, Ancha de San Antonio 22.

Details of all Pro Musica’s concerts and Patron Membership are on our web site,, or contact us at


Comments are closed

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg
 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Photo Gallery

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg
Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes All original content on these pages is fingerprinted and certified by Digiprove