photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Guanajuato Symphony Orchestra Will Inspire

By Mittie Roger

After touring extensively in the United States, the Guanajuato Symphony Orchestra returns to San Miguel for its only performance of the year to play a powerful concert on Sunday, February 8, at Angela Peralta theater at 5pm. The program includes Schubert’s Symphony No. 9, The Great, Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade after Plato’s Symposium, and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Russian Easter Festival Overture.

Pro Musica Concert Series
Guanajuato Symphony Orchestra
Sun, Feb 8, 5pm
Ángela Peralta theater
150/200/350/400 pesos

The Symphony No. 9, known as The Great, is believed to be the final symphony completed by Franz Schubert. Originally referred to as the Great C major to distinguish it from his Symphony No. 6, the Little C major, the subtitle is now seen as an indication of the symphony’s grandeur. It is considered particularly challenging for orchestras to play because of its extremely lengthy woodwind and string parts, and its magnificent scoring for a large orchestra. Surprisingly, when the symphony reached Paris in 1842 and London in 1844, several orchestras totally refused to play it. During its first performance in London in 1856 under August Manns, the violinists toppled over with laughter during the second subject of the finale because of its difficulty! Leonard Bernstein’s violin concerto Serenade, After Plato’s Symposium, composed in 1954, is based on a rereading of Plato’s charming dialogue, The Symposium. The music, like the dialogue, is a series of related statements in praise of love,and generally follows the Platonic form through the succession of speakers at a banquet. The “relatedness” of the movements does not depend on common thematic material, but rather on a system whereby each movement evolves out of elements in the preceding one.

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s great Russian Easter Overture, officially named the Russian Easter Festival Overture: Overture on Liturgical Themes, was written by the Russian composer between 1887 and 1888 in remembrance of two influential composers, Modest Mussorgsky and Alexander Borodin, two members of the exceptional group of composers known as “The Five.” This concert is the last of what are considered his three most outstanding orchestral works, following Capriccio Espagnol and Scheherazade. The work debuted at a Russian symphony concert in St. Petersburg in late December, 1888.

The Guanajuato Symphony is the resident symphonic orchestra of the University of Guanajuato and, in practice, the State Orchestra. It is one of the longest established orchestras in Mexico, founded in 1952. Additionally, it’s the orchestra in residence for the internationally acclaimed Cervantino Festival that takes place in October every year. Don’t miss the full Guanajuato orchestra performing these exceptional pieces in a unique concert—the likes of which you may never have the opportunity to hear in San Miguel again.

Tickets for the concert at Teatro Ángela Peralta are 150/200/350/400 pesos donation each, and are on sale at the theater box office, La Tienda in La Biblioteca, and La Conexión (only at Aldama 3). Details of all Pro Musica’s concerts and Patron Membership are on our web site, or contact us at


Comments are closed

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg
 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Photo Gallery

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg
Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes All original content on these pages is fingerprinted and certified by Digiprove