photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Symphonie Atlantique for the first time in San Miguel de Allende

By Rebecca Huber

Symphonie Atlantique – one of Europe’s most promising and exciting new ensembles – is touring in Mexico and is scheduled to give a special performance in San Miguel de Allende. This magnanimous event will take place in one of the most beautiful building from 19th century, “Centro Cultural Santa María del Obraje, Teatro La Troje” located Calzada de la Presa 50. The performance, on Sunday November 9th at 5pm, will feature 18th century French music, including a virtuosic violin concerto by Jean-Marie Leclair, and the adventuresome, yet infamous, “Les Indes Galantes” by Jean-Philippe Rameau. Tickets at La Conexión, Teatro Ángela Peralta y La Biblioteca.

Symphonie Atlantique
Sun, Nov 9, 5pm
Teatro La Troje
Centro Cultural Santa María del Obraje
Tickets at La Conexión, Teatro Ángela Peralta y La Biblioteca

Symphonie Atlantique, which is based in The Hague, The Netherlands, is an early music orchestra, in which the musicians play on historical classical instruments. The group has already performed extensively throughout Europe and was recently recognized by the International Young Artist Presentation in Antwerp as one of Europe’s most promising young ensembles.

This season, “Symphonie Atlantique” will perform their first international tour in Mexico and will have their Concertgebouw debut in Amsterdam, performing a semi-staged production of Handel’s “Giulio Cesare,” directed from the violin, in April 2015.

Directed from the violin by concertmaster Rebecca Huber (USA), the group’s focus is to create an intimate orchestral experience without a conductor. “Most of the time, musicians playing in an orchestra are under complete control of the conductor,” says Huber. “When everyone focuses on only one person, the conductor or soloist, for inspiration, something is lost in the performance. When we perform, we want every musician to participate in providing the inspiration and in contributing to the interpretation of the piece.”

“We want to be an orchestra of soloists,” Said Rebecca Huber which is a violinist specializing in both early and contemporary music, with an emphasis on classical and romantic repertoire performed on period instruments.

After graduating from the Oberlin Conservatory with a bachelor degree in 2004, she attended the Royal Conservatory of the Netherlands in The Hague, studying baroque violin performance with Kati Debrezeni, Elizabeth Wallfisch, and Cat Mackintosh. She received both a Bachelor and a Master degree from the Royal Conservatory, presenting research on the 19th-century violinist as conductor for her Master’s thesis.

In 2012, Rebecca was invited to join the newly formed conductor-less orchestra “Symphonie Atlantique” as artistic director and concertmaster. Since then, Symphonie Atlantique has performed at the Caixa Forums in Madrid and Barcelona, in the Dr Anton Philpzaal Den Haag in a performance that was broadcast live on the radio, in the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam with Michael Chance and Stefanie True, and as part of the Música Antica da Camera concert series.

Rebecca also performs with several chamber ensembles and orchestras around the world. She is a member of Modelo 62, a contemporary music ensemble specializing in experimental music, which recently performed concerts in Argentina, The Netherlands and Belgium. Rebecca also plays with Concordi Musici, an early music ensemble which performed concerts in Korea in May 2013, and Orquesta Novum Antiquea Musica. She works regularly with B’rock in Belgium, Les Passions in Switzerland, and has performed with The Sixteen, with whom she performed in the BBC Proms and the Edinburgh Festival, The Wallfisch Band, including several tours and a performance in Wigmore Hall, London directed by Gustav Leonard, and in Buenos Aires with Opera2day. Rebecca plays on a baroque violin made by Matthieu Besseling.

In addition to their performances, Symphone Atlantique musicians will conduct a weeklong workshop for Mexican baroque musicians in Mexico City. Don’t miss this exciting opportunity to listen to one of the world’s great early music ensembles!

Comments are closed

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg
 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Photo Gallery

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg
Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes All original content on these pages is fingerprinted and certified by Digiprove