photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

The San Miguel Poetry week

By Jennifer Clement

The San Miguel Poetry week, a literary festival, will take place the first week of January 2012. For almost 20 years, The San Miguel Poetry Week has brought top international poets to San Miguel.

The San Miguel Poetry week

Mon Jan, 2-6, Readings

w/Kirsty Gunn & Víctor Manuel Mendiola, Mon, Jan 2,7pm

w/Christopher Merrill Showcase, Tue, Jan 3,7pm

w/Tomaz Salumun & Robert Wrigley, Wed, Jan 4, 7pm

Participants Reading, Fri, Jan 6, 7pm

Video: Bill Moyers interviews Joy Harjo. Tue, Jan 3, 6pm. All events in Teatro Santa Ana, La Biblioteca, Reloj 50A, free

Jennifer Clement and Barbara Sibley, sisters who grew up in Mexico City, are founders of The San Miguel Poetry Week. Jennifer Clement is an award-winning writer who is the author of the memoir Widow Basquiat as well as novels and poetry books. Clement is currently President of Mexico’s PEN and was recently awarded the National Endowment of the Arts Fellowship for Literature. Barbara Sibley is the chef and owner of the Manhattan Mexican restaurant: La Palapa Cocina Mexicana and Vice President of the New York Women’s Culinary Alliance. She is also the author of Antojitos. The poetry week consists of morning workshops and evening readings, which are held at the Santa Ana Theater and are free and open to the public. For more information:

Kirsty Gunn is the author of Rain, for which she won the London Arts Board Literature Award; The Keepsake, Featherstone, This Place You Return To Is Home, 44 Things, and The Boy and the Sea, winner of the 2007 Sundial Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year Award. Kirsty Gunn lives in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Christopher Merrill has published four collections of poetry, including Brilliant Water and Watch Fire, for which he received the Peter I. B. Lavan Younger Poets Award from the Academy of American Poets. His work has been translated into 25 languages, and his honors include a Knighthood in Arts and Letters from the French government. He is director of the prestigious International Writing Program at The University of Iowa.

Tomaz Salamun is considered Slovenia’s greatest living poet and is the author of Poker, The Book for My Brother, and There’s the Hand and There’s the Arid Chair, among others.

His prizes include the Preseren Prize, the Jenko Prize, the Pushcart Prize, and the European Prize for Poetry. He lives in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Robert Wrigley is author of eight books of poetry including The Sinking of Clay City; Moon In a Mason Jar, What My Father Believed Earthly Meditations: New and Selected Poems and Beautiful Country. He was awarded National Endowment for the Arts and John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships, the Frederick Bock Prize and Wagner Award from the Poetry Society of America, among others. Wrigley lives in the woods near Moscow, Idaho.

Víctor Manuel Mendiola is author of Vuelo 294, Papel Revolución, Tan Oro y Ogro, and Tu Mano, Mi Boca. He is the recipient of the Premio Latino de Literatura prize and the Premio Internacional de Literatura Letras del Bicentenario Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz prize for his novel 4 Para Lulu. Mendiola is the publisher and editor of Ediciones el Tucan de Virginia.

Leave a Reply

 photo RSMAtnWebAdRed13.jpg

Photo Gallery

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes All original content on these pages is fingerprinted and certified by Digiprove